Introduction to the INTERNeX Family

Good afternoon! So with the New Year comes New Years resolutions and INTERNeX is ready to start off 2010 in a positive way.

We took a look at the past few years and realized that the INTERNeX team was fading behind the company name. So I took it upon myself to interview the INTERNeX family and post the results on our blog so you can find out a little more about the people behind the company name. For the first interview I spoke with Tim, who is the president of the company. I hope you enjoy this!

What is your first name?
Tim.

Where are you from?
Victoria, British Columbia.

What languages do you speak fluently other than English?
Funnily enough I wouldn’t say I was fluent in anything but English, but I can get by in Spanish, German and French.

What position do you hold at INTERNeX? And for how long have you been working here?
I am the president of the company and have been working here since the startup of this company which was back in 1998.

What made you want to become involved with INTERNeX in the first place?
I studied in Europe for 6 years and saw a distinct need to bridge the gap between the world and the classroom. I believe that practice is the best of all instructors and INTERNeX provides its clients with tailored experiential programs that promote international awareness and understanding.

In what ways do you think INTERNeX is unique from other international placement agencies? What does INTERNeX specifically offer that no other company can?
Significant breadth and depth of knowledge, unique diversity of services, international exposure and quality of placement.

What changes within INTERNeX have you personally witnessed since you have joined the team?
Well this company pretty much started out in my living room on a broken down computer. We started out with 6 participants and each year we have witnessed 100% growth for the first several years. Not only have we seen growth within the company but also on an international level with offices opening up in New Zealand, Toronto, Holland and France.

Where would you like to see INTERNeX in the next 10 years? Do you have any New Year’s goals for the company?
Well I could talk for hours about the plans that I have for INTERNeX but to sum it up into a few short points I would have to say that first and foremost I would like this company to be the gold standard for experiential education. There isn’t really an industry standard so I believe that INTERNeX can continue to lead by setting the standard which all other companies must achieve in order to compete. Secondly, I would like us to focus more on the candidates experience both before and during their participation.

Tell us one interesting fact about yourself that not a lot of people know?
I started a medieval heritage society in Scotland and won the Caer-Caledon (St. Andrews) Medieval sword-fighting tourney for three consecutive years.

If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be?
Well I am a die hard Vancouverite and Canadian but if I could live anywhere but Vancouver, I would choose Edinburgh.


Leave a Reply

