INTERNeX Canada: Expose of the week

The expose of the week today is a testimonial by Bart. He is from the Netherlands and came to Canada when he was 21 years old. He did an internship in Toronto organised by INTERNeX for a marketing firm. Below is his testimonial of his experience:

Before I started my internship in Canada, I wasn’t really sure if I was able to do so. One of my issues was that I was struggling with my language. My English was just good enough to succeed the first conversation I had with Houtan, the program manager for INTERNeX. Another issue was that I was quite late with searching for an internship in Canada, so I was very happy that INTERNeX could help me finding one.

After everything was discussed about my desires I had about my Internship in Canada, Houtan started to search for a location. Just before I had my flight to Toronto he actually gave me a proposal for an Internship.  I accepted this one and my journey could begin. However, I had a few more questions about my work-permit, and INTERNeX was very open and able to answer all my questions. In advance, INTERNeX had given me several opportunities for places to sleep, but I was able to find my own location.

After I arrived Houtan gave me several instructions for working in a, for me, strange country, which I found very pleasant. In my first week in Toronto I received an invitation to the weekly pub nights that INTERNeX. I was able to speak to Houtan every week during the pub night and he actually asked me every time how my internship went. That gave me a feeling that he was keeping an eye on everyone.

The 20 weeks of Internship went well and I had a good relationship with my employer. Because of the pub night I met dozens of other international students. We became close friends and I was going out with them every weekend. On Saturday and Sunday we went sightseeing and we even went on ‘holiday’ with each other!

All in all, INTERNeX has helped me finding friends and having a great time in Toronto. Without them it would have never happened.

Thanks INTERNeX!

INTERNeX International Exchange
Suite 200 – 211 Columbia Street
Vancouver BC -V6A 2R5-
Web: http://www.internexcanada.com 
Phone: +1 (604) 662 8149
Email: pr@internexcanada.com 

Leave a Reply

