INTERNeX Canada: Queenie says hey!

Hey everyone,

Working in the public relations industry has always been something that I’ve dreamt of and now here I am at INTERNeX! In the past August, I finished my degree in Communications at Simon Fraser University, and now I’m ready to explore the world on my own. It’s only my first day here, but I have learnt so much already and have met many new co-workers from all over the world, but I know that there is so much more to come. I am very excited to dive into all the challenges, gain practical experience, and of course, go out to all the pub nights and events!

Unlike many of the other interns, I am from Vancouver. Well, originally I was born in Hong Kong, but moved here with my parents when I was seven. Ever since then, I have called Vancouver my home.  Back then, coming from a foreign country, as well as speaking a different language and not knowing anyone was quite intimidating. Fast forward to 2012, Vancouver has evolved into this multi-cultural city, where you can just about find people of every ethnicity, and that goes for food, music, dancing…. This is what I love about Vancouver the most:  there is just so much to do!

My favorite thing to do in the winter is go snowboarding on Cypress Mountain. This sport may seem difficult at first and admittedly rather painful, but it is so thrilling when you get the hang of it. Now, I am not the most athletic person and am probably the girl-iest person you will ever find, so if I can do it, so can you! I also love cheering on the Vancouver Canucks during the hockey season, which runs from October to May. Being in this city, it is hard not to get caught up with emotions that surround it.  Last year, I was devastated when I had to miss the entire playoff run as I was travelling in Asia. Though this changed when I found that there was a pub where all the Vancouverites gathered at 8 am (due to the time difference) to watch the game. People called in sick just so they can watch the game, that’s how dedicated and attached people are to the hockey team. I felt really proud to be from this country and be a part of that experience.

While I do live here in Vancouver, I realize that there is so much I have yet to experience. Sometimes living here has made me take for granted how beautiful and vibrant this city is. I can’t wait to meet all of you and become a tourist myself in this city with all the activities coming up. I would love to get to know all of you and listen to all the adventures you have been on, so please do not hesitate to leave a comment or find me at an upcoming event!

Cheers,

Queenie

INTERNeX International Exchange
Suite 200 – 211 Columbia Street
Vancouver BC -V6A 2R5-
Web: http://www.internexcanada.com
Phone: +1 (604) 662 8149
Email: pr@internexcanada.com

3 thoughts on “INTERNeX Canada: Queenie says hey!

Leave a Reply

