International Vancouver: Oppa Gangnam Style!

Canada is such a multicultural place, especially Vancouver. It is home to one of the biggest Asian communities! And this post is one of the reasons why I think Vancouver is such an international city. And before you all say something, I know this post is way overdue…but I’m still going through with it. For those of you who didn’t know, I was born in South Korea but moved to Vancouver when I was only seven.  And every time I meet someone new and after when they find out that I’m Korean,  immediately they start doing this – Op, op, op, Oppa Gangnam Style *dance moves*. Seriously? And after their horrible rendition of this song, they proceed to ask me what the song lyrics actually mean. It amazes me how viral the music video has gone yet so many people don’t know what the lyrics mean, well more like they don’t take the time to find out for themselves.

So read carefully…because I am about to explain what the song is about…for like the 50th time. Basically, Psy, the singer and creator of this song, talks about the lifestyle of Gangnam (a district in South Korea). He describes how the women in Gangnam act proper during the day time but become wild during the night. And Psy talks about about how he is the right kind of man for these ladies in Gangnam.

There, now you know a little bit more about the song and what Psy is talking about. Like I said, Vancouver is a city known for one of the largest Asian communities, but I think Koreans definitely stand out…due to the help from this famous song.

Isn’t it crazy how one video went so viral worldwide? It has reached over a billion views on Youtube! 

Cheers,

Flora

INTERNeX International Exchange
Suite 200 – 211 Columbia Street
Vancouver BC -V6A 2R5-
Web: http://www.internexcanada.com
Phone: +1 (604) 662 8149
Email: pr@internexcanada.com

Leave a Reply

