CLIENT TESTIMONIAL

Christian, Germany

received_974361812626312

  1. For how long have you been here?

I´ve stayed in Vancouver for 6 months.

  1. Why did you choose Canada

I’ve been in Canada before as I went to a language school in Toronto. I experienced living in Canada and I was really impressed by the open minded and friendly Canadians and decided to go back for my practicum. Another big point why I chose Canada again is that the almost endless space this country offers and the many areas of untouched nature impresses me.

  1. How did you find INTERNeX International Exchange?

I did some research on travel agencies online and decided to get in touch with Praktikawelten that is the partner agency of INTERNeX.

  1. What did you like most about INTERNeX International Exchange? / What do you think are the advantages INTERNeX has to offer? 

I was really surprised about all the social activities INTERNeX organizes. I think especially the weekly PuB NiGHTS are a big advantage INTERNeX offers compared to other agencies or language schools. All these activities make it really easy to get to know other people. Another big advantage is the really warm and familiar atmosphere you find every time you come to the office with a problem or request. To know that you always have someone to help you with any kind of problem makes it really easy to enjoy your time abroad.

5. Did you attend the weekly Pub Nights / Events organized by INTERNeX and do you think this is a good way to meet new people?

Except my last week I went to every single Pup Night during my time in Vancouver. It is a great way to meet people and talk in an easy environment. I also attended to a lot of the other events organized and I always enjoyed spending time with everyone. I think especially for people who FB_IMG_1439422770060have difficulties to meet people on their own these events are a big advantage.

 

  1. Where did you stay? / How did you find a place to stay?

I stayed with two different homestay. The first family had a clean house and was located really close to a skytrain station. But unfortunately these are the only positive things I can say. The family barely had any interest in their students. The second family was much more interested and welcomed me friendly. My room was a way bigger than the room I had before and provided everything I needed. The provided food was not the European style of cooking and quite oily but it was always enough for every student in the house and we could always get some more or cooking something on our own. We also always got fruits and vegetables. All in all I was happy with the second family and would recommend them to other students. Furthermore I’m glad that INTERNeX could quickly fix that problem. Mina did a good job accommodating me in another family quickly.

  1. What did you do here?

I made an practicum at Purdys Chocolates in the purchasing department.

  1. How did you like your practicum?

I really enjoyed my time at Purdys and learned a lot about purchasing, business processes in Canada and North America and in addition to that improved my communication and working skills. But how could a practicum in a chocolate factory possibly not be awesome?Photo 9-19-15, 12 58 06 PM

  1. What kind of tasks were you responsible for?

My work was divided in the usual day-to-day work and special projects. My day-to-day work was to observe stock quantity and production schedules of certain products and place purchase orders if necessary. Another task was research to find suppliers for ingredients for new developed products or supply items. I had a lot of contact with suppliers though to discuss pricing, lead times etc. Some of my projects were for instance to develop concepts to improve the receiving processes or to collect data for packaging weights and some more.

  1. Was your practicum related to your studies back home?

Yes the practicum was related to my study program.

  1. What was your
    personal goal you wanted to reach during your time here? Did you reach it?

I had different goals for my time abroad. As it is my goal to work abroad after graduating from university I wanted to test for myself if I am able to live and work abroad. I would definitely say that I know now that I am able to do so. Another goal was to improve my communication, language and personal skills and I reached this goal as well. And of course I got the letter of reference I needed to finish my study program and have this awesome time of my life as an international work experience in my resume.

  1. How did you like Vancouver?

I really liked and enjoyed my time in Vancouver. To be in a big city that offers everything you need and makes almost everything accessible by public transport. Being at the coast and have gorgeous beaches in the city and be able to leave the city to be in the almost untouched nature in 1 hour or less by bus was really amazing. In addition to that Vancouver itself has a lot to offer. A lot of awesome places, parks, restaurants, pubs and especially people (international students and Canadians as well!).

  1. What did you like most about your stay? / What were your highlights?

I made a lot of hikes around Vancouver and really enjoyed the breathtaking views everywhere. But if I have to pick there would choose 4 highlights: Trip to the Rocky Mountains, Roadtrip on Vancouver Islands, Hike to The Lions and Unnecessary Mountain and last but not least Whale Watching!

  1. Where have you been in and around Vancouver?

Rocky Mountains (Hope, Banff, Columbia Ice Fields, Lake Louise, etc.); Vancouver Island (Victoria, Nanaimo, Torfino, etc.); Seattle; Whistler; Squamish; Lynn Canyon Park, Lighthouse Park, Unnecessary Mountain, Shannon Falls;Black Mountain, Grouse Mountain, Queen Elizabeth Park, Stanley Park, etc.

  1. Would you recommend INTERNeX International Exchange for other students?

I would definitely recommend INTERNeX to other students or my friends at all if they think about going to Canada.

 

Leave a Reply

