I am Nicola Beilhack from Germany/ Bavaria. I am 18 years old at the moment and finished school last year. I am taking something like a gap year at the moment, but I start with my study in October. It is going to be a dual study for sports, health and rehabilitation.

Nicola Beilhack

I decided to go to Canada for its unique landscape and the spirit of people there. I also wanted to improve my English, so it had to be an English speaking country. In that case Canada was just the most interesting for me. I planned my trip with a German organization and they mediated me to INTERNeX.

At the moment I am doing an internship here in Vancouver, to gain experience on how companies work in other countries and to expand my general knowledge. I really like it, since the people are so kind and really try to include me in their work. I am placed at a sports club. They organise competitions and big events for the club. It is really interesting to see how a big sports club is working. I really like it here because everybody is super friendly and made me feel welcome since day one.

To work and to be successful here you should be very open-minded and able to speak to unknown people. Luckily this is not really a problem for me. Furthermore communication is very important in the company. You also need good computer skills like word, excel and power point, because we make scoring sheets and other stuff like that. Besides that you should also be a creative thinker since you have to solve unexpected problems. This practicum is not part of my study, but I think it is very helpful, especially for me, to see the other side of sports. For example I now see more the organisation and administration part and not only the medical part of it, and that is where I will be focusing on in my upcoming study.

For the first four weeks I lived at a homestay family, organised by INTERNeX. They were very friendly and we always had lots of food at home, but unfortunately it was a bit expensive for me. I decided to look for an accommodation on my own and found a house with six other roommates, so it is always fun and I never feel alone here. I actually met these people on the buss when I started chatting with them about my big search for a house. They told me they were looking for a new roommate and from that point everything went quite fast and I moved in. So yeah you could say I found my house in the buss, but that is not really common haha.

My first impression of Vancouver was that it is really rainy, but luckily that already changed a bit! I also experienced that the people are really kind and friendly and always try to help you. I think Vancouver and the surrounding landscape is beautiful!

The PR-team of INTERNeX organises activities and trips and I am really trying to attend every event since it is really cool to meet people who are doing the same thing like you. It also feels like it is my home here, because you can make friends really quick and do a lot of activities with them. So far I joined the big Rockies trip in April. I also went to Lighthouse Park, the museum of Vancouver and a Frisbee game of the Vancouver Riptides. I visited Deep Cove and Burnaby Mountain Park on my own and of course I attend almost every pub night on Wednesdays.

Nicola Beilhack (words)

 

What I like most about Vancouver and Canada is the spirit people have here and theopportunity to live in a big city surrounded by a gorgeous landscape. This combination is unique and really cool because you can spend your whole day in the middle of nowhere and in the evening you can go out with friends to have a great party night! The most memorable thing was my trip to the Rockies and Deep Cove. It was also amazing to be able to go skiing at the end of April on Grouse Mountain.

This trip really inspired me to travel more. I really want to come back to see more of Canada, but there are so many beautiful destinations around the world that I can’ t really decide right now. I would prefer a country where the sun is shining all the time and not to cold, because summer all year is just great.

The first thing I will do when I get back home is spending time with my family and buy really good bread, buns and pretzels at my domestic bakery, since bread is just not really good here…

– Nicola

INTERNeX International Exchange
International Village,
Suite 2077, 2079 – 88 West Pender Street
Vancouver, Canada -V6B 6N9-
Web: http://www.internexcanada.com
Email: pr@internexcanada.com

Leave a Reply

