PR-Team Adventures

As some of you might know, my boyfriend visited me for two weeks and on the last day we went on a little trip to Garibaldi Lake together with Merle, Tess and my boyfriend. I wanted to show him the great blue lakes without going to the Rockies and this trip was perfect for that.

As it is hard to reach Garibaldi Lake by public transport, we rented a car to get to the lake. We were really lucky, because some people probably cancelled their reservation and therefore we could get a more luxurious car. I already downloaded an offline map on Google Maps beforehand, so getting there was easy.

It was my first time driving a car in Canada, so I was happy to see that the way to Garibaldi Lake was mostly going straight. Driving up to the hiking trail already felt like a road trip, as you can see the beautiful views along the Sea to Sky highway. When we were almost at our final destination, we got confused with where we had to take the exit and therefore had to drive a long way till we could finally turn. After a while of searching, we got a spot right in front of the hiking trail and could immediately start our adventure.

20525681_10209637696840209_2935380084615898533_n

The hike up to Garibaldi Lake is 9 kilometres long of which 6 kilometres were pretty steep. Therefore, the first 6 kilometres were much harder and we took way more breaks on this part of the hike. Both my boyfriend and I don’t have the greatest condition which made it a bit hard sometimes. On the way we spotted some chipmunks and we also passed two other beautiful lakes, Barrier lake and Lesser Garibaldi Lake. As I didn’t know that there were more lakes I thought that we finally reached Garibaldi Lake all the time. However, we still had to walk a bit more to finally reach Garibaldi Lake.

20431636_10209637698520251_6581499177034320845_nAt Garibaldi Lake we made sure that we conquered one of the picnic tables after making many pictures of the beautiful view. Here I could finally fill my stomach and relax till it was time to go back to the car again. The way back to the parking lot was way easier as you were mostly going down, which is why some people were even running down the hiking trail.

It is not strange that my legs were still hurting 2 days later, as it took us 5.5 hours to get to Garibaldi Lake and to get back to the car. It was definitely worth the pain and time though and I would surely recommend it to everyone who is visiting Canada.

I hope you all had a great weekend and I am looking forward to hearing all about it on PuB NiGHT!

– Iris

INTERNeX International Exchange
International Village,
Suite 2077, 2079 – 88 West Pender Street
Vancouver, Canada -V6B 6N9-
Web: http://www.internexcanada.com
Email: pr@internexcanada.com

Leave a Reply

