Fun & Informational facts – The Canadian Rockies!

Are you in The Rocky Mountains right now, thinking about going or just curious? Read this facts!

There are five major parks that are part of the Canadian Rockies, they are Yoho, Jasper, Kootenay, Banff and Waterton.

The oldest park of Canada and one of the most visited parks around the territory is Banff. Some of Banff’s residents include Grizzly bears, lynx, deer, weasel and a many others. Next is Jasper, the largest of the five.

The Canadian Rockies have been likened to the African Serengeti in terms of the abundance of wildlife! Watch out for bears, cougars, elk and more.

As far as weather is concerned, snow can fall as late as June and early July at the higher elevations and weather generally changes quickly in the mountains. On one side of a mountain it could be sunny, and on the other it could be rain

Lake Louise

Peaks of mountains are spiky because of glaciers on it. These glaciers obviously make the mountains cooler and moist.

The time changes from Mountain Standard Time to Pacific Standard Time somewhere between Golden and Revelstoke.

Kootenay National Park is Canada’s only park with both glaciers and cactus plants.

Banff National Park has over 1,600 kilometers of hiking trails.

Kimberley mine produced 75% of the lead used by Allies forces in WWII.

The UNESCO World Heritage Site made up of four Canadian Rocky Mountain national parks is a total protected area of over 20,000 square kilometers.

Banff National Park’s wildlife can cross the Trans-Canada Highway on specially built over and under passes, designed to reduce vehicular collisions with the animals. These have set the world-standard for animal-highway relations.

Most of the INTERNeX interns and candidates living Vancouver are in The Rocky Mountains at the moment. Check this blog on Tuesday to read how they experienced it!

Have a nice day!

Your PR-team